Chocolating

You know those people who work for 15-20 years, doing the same thing, and they eventually get tired of it and do something else? They do something totally different, unlike anything they’ve ever done professionally before. Something wacky.

This is one of those stories.

I was going along, doing well, and everything is peachy, when something in the back of my mind tells me that I need to make a change. Not just a new job, not just a new company, but a Big Change. I needed to do something totally different from what I was doing at the time.

And then there I was at a dinner party, talking to a friend who says that she’s selling her business. Her chocolate business. Her boutique artisan chocolate business, with truffles that cannot be described with words and ginger bark that’s heavenly and this amazing ganache that she made at another dinner party that didn’t turn out the way she wanted but made everyone else crazy because it was so yummy.

So I bought her business.

I love to cook. I especially love to cook for other people. (I made truffles once at home, a long time ago, in fact, although I’m not sure that’s relevant.) I’ve founded, managed and grown a small business, so I know what’s required. (One of my challenges there, which I hope to overcome here, is finding the difference between “working too hard” and “not working hard enough” — there’s always something that needs doing in a small business…) I also know how to market.

All I need to do, then, is learn how to make chocolate. Luckily, I have Heather, the former owner, who’s developed a beautiful curriculum for me. “Curriculum” sounds so scholastic, but who can take issue with 1.5 hours on how to make caramels?

In any case, here I go. I bought the business a couple of weeks ago, signed a lease on a space last night, and gave my notice this morning. June will be the beginning of my chocolating experience.

Brian

 

 

12 Responses to “Chocolating”

  1. Ken Kadet Says:

    Hey Brian,
    At the Jewish new year, we share the greeting, “to a sweet new year.” On the occasion of your new beginning in sweets, let me wish you the same!

  2. Jane Rischmiller Says:

    Linda forwarded your web site to many.

    Remember….now there is no more a PRINTER WAR and rubber ducky….only a need for successful candy/treat recipes and customers.

    GOOD LUCK!

    Jane

  3. Bryan Blaise Says:

    Congrats, Brian! Here’s to sweet success…you know who to turn to for all of your small business needs. It’s your new sweet world. Delivered. 😉

  4. Just when I though you couldn’t surprise me anymore…wow! Nice! Good luck and send me a mail order catalog.

  5. Sophie, Paris - Düsseldorf Says:

    Un-beee-lie-vableee !! You always surprise me !!!
    You know that food is our favourite topic in France and your description made my mouth water … 😉
    Good luck !
    Bises,
    Sophie

  6. Cool Brian:
    What a great adventure. My wife asked that I suggest dark chocolate and orange. Please put me on your list too.
    Aloha, Bob Sommers

  7. Katie Pace Says:

    Hey Brian,

    This is incredible! I am so happy for you…congrats on listening to that little voice in the back of your head:)

    And your other post is true as well…for me, there are few things that I would sacrafice for a nice piece of chocolate!

    If you ever need some sales help, let me know! 🙂

    Best of luck to you, and send me a catalog when you’re up and running.

    Best,
    Katie Pace

  8. Brian,

    Best of luck. You don’t know me, but my sister-in-law (Katie Pace) passed along your story. I am a total foodie, a reformed attorney/corporate stiff and someone who is considering changing paths in life as well (Kate’s sister and I met in law school at Wash U. so I have a soft spot for STL also). I appreciate the courage it takes to start off on your own. Not to mention, I’m a chocolate freak and have tried many of the worlds best while traveling. I took an intro class at Maison du Chocolat in Manhattan and can appreciate how technical it is to make chocolate. Can’t wait to see what you come up with! Best of luck…

  9. Brenda Forsythe Says:

    Brian, I always knew you were the sweetest guy ever! Wow, just think, a business where even the rejects will be yummy. Congratulations and I wish you all the best.
    Brenda

  10. You never cease to amaze me! Hey, at least you will have the marketing down pat. Very best wishes to you. I know you will knock it out of the park! Please keep me on your blast email list.

  11. Pam Miller Duluth, MN Says:

    Brian, Once again off on a new adventure. I have always been proud of you and what you have done in your young life. Please know that you have my support no matter what you decide to do. Love you, MOM

  12. Walter Lee Says:

    “Life is like a box of chocolate, you never know what you’re gonna get!” Good luck with your new business. I wish you are gonna get a very yummy one!

Leave a Reply

